Advertise with us Home | About | Contact | Feedback
History | Facebook

History of Kudaldeshkar

Who we are
How we spread
Our distinguished Food Habits!

Who we are -- Adya Gaud / PanchGaud Brahmins

All India brahmins are divided as Gaud & Dravid.
Gauds are further subdivided in five major divisions

  1. On The banks of Ganga river south of Bengal.
  2. Sarswats on the bank of river Saraswati.
  3. Kanya Kubja from Kanouj,Kanpur.
  4. Utkals from Orisa.
  5. Maithilis from Bihar.
Dabholi Math Sansthan

Though it is not easy to prove the root of Panchgaud Brahmins, the name Gaud Brahmin has been derived from the word GUD. People staying in the GUD province of UTTAR KURU were called GAUD. Gaud Brahmins later migrated to BANG, now called Bengal and hence Bengal was also named as Gaudpradesh. After Sultan Mehamood drove away a king named Samant, this Samant migrated to Kudal province in south Kokan under the leadership of one Devsharma. Kudal province was then under CHALUKYASAMRAT MAHAMANDALESHWAR KADAMB RAJA. Kadamba Raja gave some authority to Devsharma and group. They settled around nearby 14 villages namely - Valaval, Dhamapur, Nerur, Pat, Parule, Mhapan, Khanoli, Ajgaon, Golvan, Kelus, Vetore, Dabholi, Tendoli, Tirawde,

Kochre, Masde, Chendvan, Malgaon were further four villages where they settled later.

They thus formed a power centre of SAMANT with KUDUVALPATTAN as the capital whose name was later simplified as KUDAL and people controlling the power were called KUDALDESHKARS. Some of them further travelled to Bardesh, Bhalawali and hence to be known as Bardeshkars and Bhalavalikars respectively. History of Kudaldeshkars started from there.

KUDAL PRANT is a part of North Central Konkan. Portion of this was also called as PARASHURAM KSHETRA. There are five major rivers in the area, biggest is Karli passing through Shivapur, Mandkuli, Kudal, Nerur, Walawal, Chendvan, Kavthi and meets the Arabian Sea at Deobaug. It is 90 km long.

Terekhol Khadi is 80 km long. Other three rivers are KALAVAL KHADI, HIRANYKESHI & TILARI. HIRANYAKESHI finally meets River KRISHNA and is called GHATAPRABHA after Belgaum. Kudal is based on confluence of rivers hence called Kudal in Kannada language which also had influence in that area then.